Clarence Fulton Secondary

Location: Vernon, British Columbia

Sticks for Frogs? – If you’ve just built a brand-new wetland, you might want to try this. Take small sticks or thin stakes that emulate plant stalks and insert them into the mud. Frogs use the sticks to attach their egg sacks to.  – a project by the Clarence Fulton WCE students

Located alongside Vernon Creek, in the heart of the Okanagan, this WCE has two constructed ponds, a restored 3-acre wetland and a creek running through the property. Each may, students get knee-deep guiding Grade 4 students through a section of their science curriculum.

You can sit in the school cafeteria and look out on the wetlands and Vernon Creek. You will also see a traditional cottonwood canoe donated by the Syilix Okanagan Nation mounted on stand made by the WCE students.

Excavating pond

"It’s not big (wetland area), but it is significant in terms of wildlife. It didn’t take long for bear, deer, coyotes, beaver, porcupines and a diverse bird population including great horned owls, herons, storks, hawks and ducks to benefit from the wetland restoration. It’s pretty spectacular."

Peter Iwanowski

Former science teacher

Facts & Highlights

Northern Pacific Tree Frogs are the most common frogs on the West Coast of North America and you will definitely hear them at Clarence Fulton. They produce two different kinds of very loud calls – a two syllable ‘rib-it’ call and a one syllable or monophasic call.

  • Vernon, British Columbia - Established in 2005
  • Wetlands were restored in 2004 through excavation
  • Rebuilt the boardwalk, trails and installed new interpretive signs
  • Interpretive signs were designed by graphics art students and constructed and installed by metal and woodwork students
  • Inventoried wildlife present

École secondaire Clarence Fulton

Emplacement: Vernon, Colombie-Britannique

Des bâtonnets pour les grenouilles? – Si vous venez d’aménager un tout nouveau milieu humide, vous pourriez peutêtre essayer ceci : prenez des bâtonnets ou de petits piquets qui ressemblent à des tiges de plantes et plantez-les dans la boue. Les grenouilles s’en servent pour y attacher les sacs d’ovules qu’elles pondent. – Projet des étudiants du CEMH Clarence Fulton 

Situé à la lisière du ruisseau Vernon, au cœur de l’Okanagan, ce CEMH est doté de deux étangs aménagés, d’un milieu humide restauré de 1,2 hectare et d’un ruisseau qui traverse le domaine. En mai, chaque année, les étudiants franchissent ce marais humide avec de l’eau jusqu’aux genoux pour guider les élèves de la quatrième année dans le cadre d’une section de leur programme de sciences.

Vous pouvez vous assoir à la cafétéria de l’école et promener votre regard sur les milieux humides et le ruisseau Vernon. Vous apercevrez aussi un canot de peuplier traditionnel, qui a été donné par la Nation Syilix d’Okanagan et qui est monté sur un socle confectionné par des étudiants du CEMH.

Excavating pond

« Ce n’est pas un énorme [milieu humide], mais il est important pour la faune. Il n’a pas fallu attendre longtemps que les ours, les cerfs, les coyotes, les castors, les porcsépics et de nombreux oiseaux, dont le grandduc d’Amérique, le héron, la cigogne, le faucon et le canard, profitent de la restauration de ce milieu humide. C’est plutôt spectaculaire. »

Peter Iwanowski

ex-enseignant dans le domaine des sciences

Faits et faits saillants

La rainette du Pacifique est la grenouille la plus répandue sur la côte ouest nord-américaine. Vous avez la certitude de l’entendre dans le CEMH ClarenceFulton. Elle lance deux types de cris stridents : un trille à deux syllabes et un cri monosyllabique ou monophasique.

  • Vernon (Colombie-Britannique) – fondé en 2005
  • Milieu humide restauré en 2004 grâce à des travaux d’excavation
  • On a reconstruit la promenade, réaménagé les sentiers et installé de nouveaux panneaux d’interprétation
  • Les panneaux d’interprétation ont été conçus par des étudiants en graphisme et ont été construits et installés par des étudiants en métallurgie et en menuiserie
  • Répertoire de la faune établi jusqu’à ce jour