Luther Marsh

WCE student leads a mentorship session at Luther Marsh in Mount Forest, ON. WCE student leads a mentorship session at Luther Marsh in Mount Forest, ON.

Location: Mount Forest, Ontairo

Luther marsh is the perfect outdoor classroom to share what we know about wetlands, plants and wildlife. We take a lot of pride in providing Grade 4 students with the best field trip they will ever experience.

A vegetation station is not a hip vegan market! It’s just a cool way the WCE uses to share their knowledge. During Wetland Day at Murphy Park, the WCE class invited students and staff from the Victoria Cross Public School to build bluebird houses and plant native shrubs. The event also included a vegetation, enviroscape and vermiculture station.

students critter dipping on marsh dock

Students plant trees and shrubs, remove invasive plants, do spring clean-up, and build bluebird boxes at their adopted wetland within Luther Marsh. Luther Marsh is one of the most important birding areas in Ontario. More than 263 bird species have been recorded at Luther Marsh.

"We set the day up to bring the kids here, so they can have a wetland experience here in town."

Jennifer Cork

Wellington Heights teacher

Facts & Highlights

Unusual sightings at Luther Marsh include the northern flying squirrel. They are proficient gliders, gliding from 5 to 25 metres at a time. Flying squirrels are nocturnal and feed on tree sap, fungi and insects.

  • Mount Forest, Ontario - Established in 2006
  • Planted more than 250 native tree species along the Arthur Rail Trail and in the school yard
  • Home of the Wetland Top 10 Relay
  • Built an outdoor classroom
  • Constructed dipping docks, trails and boardwalks
  • Part of the Grade 10 Community Environmental Leadership Program
  • Own their own bus for transportation
Grade 3 students exploring the marsh
Students at Luther Marsh

Supporters/Partners

Conservation Grand River Agency

Marais de Luther

Un étudiant de WCE dirige une séance de mentorat à Luther Marsh, à Mount Forest, en Ontario. Un étudiant de WCE dirige une séance de mentorat à Luther Marsh, à Mount Forest, en Ontario.

Emplacement: Mount Forest, Ontairo

Le marais Luther est idéal pour enseigner en plein air ce que nous savons des milieux humides, des végétaux et de la faune. Nous sommes très fiers d’offrir aux élèves de la quatrième année la meilleure excursion sur le terrain de leur vie.

Une station de végétation n’est pas un marché végane à la mode! Il s’agit simplement d’un moyen génial auquel ce CEMH fait appel pour diffuser les connaissances. Pendant la Journée des terres humides à Murphy Park, le CEMH a invité les étudiants et le personnel de l’École publique Victoria Cross à construire des maisonnettes à merlebleus et à planter des arbustes indigènes. Il fallait aussi construire une station de végétation, de paysagement environnemental et de vermiculture. 

students critter dipping on marsh dock

Les étudiants du CEMH Wellington plantent des arbres et des arbustes, arrachent les espèces envahissantes, mènent une campagne de nettoyage au printemps et construisent des nichoirs à merlebleus dans leur milieu humide adoptif du marais Luther. Le marais Luther est l’une des plus importantes zones ornithologiques en Ontario. On y a relevé plus de 263 espèces d’oiseaux.

« Nous organisons la journée pour animer les activités des élèves, afin de leur permettre de découvrir les milieux humides en ville. »

Jennifer Cork

enseignante à l’école Wellington

Faits et faits saillants

On voit bien des animaux rares au marais Luther, dont le grand polatouche. Cet écureuil maîtrise l’art du vol, puisqu’il peut parcourir de 5 à 25 mètres à la fois. Le polatouche est nocturne et se nourrit de la sève des arbres, des champignons et des insectes.

  • Mount Forest (Ontario) – CEMH fondé en 2006
  • On a planté plus de 250 espèces d’arbres indigènes le long du sentier ferroviaire Arthur et dans la cour de l’école.
  • Siège du relais des 10 premiers milieux humides
  • On a construit une salle de classe en plein air
  • On a aussi construit des quais pour la chasse aux bestioles, des sentiers de randonnée et des promenades.
  • Le lieu fait partie du Programme de leadership environnemental communautaire pour les étudiants de la dixième année.
  • Le CEMH a son propre autobus.
Grade 3 students exploring the marsh
Students at Luther Marsh

Partenaires

Office de protection de la nature de la rivière Grand